Looking for a midi/USB keyboard

Reaction score
So, I recently got the urge to play a bit of piano. The problem is: the piano in our house is in the living room, and it's loud (shocker).

That's why I've been looking for a midi/usb keyboard to hook up to my pc and play. I'm looking at an Alesis Q49 right now, but if you guys have any suggestions, then I'd like to hear them

Reaction score
Anything from Roland or Alesis is an absolute Shout, Yamaha are also another good suggestion.

I'm a guitarist tho so my knowledge on keyboards is limited.

Reaction score
Or you can just use https://virtualpiano.net/
It's actually a lot of fun and I thoroughly enjoy it :)

Why are you thinking of getting something to plug into your PC? Have you looked at getting an entry level 76 key keyboard piano and just sticking headphones into it?
I personally prefer the large natural feel of it apposed to having to change what key im in and stuff with the pc but that's up to you I suppose :)

Reaction score
Matters how much you are willing to spend. Do you want stuff like weighted keys, touch-sensitive keys and how many do you want/need?
Fyi, a normal piano has 88 keys, your Alesis Q49 has 49 keys. If you want to play actual piano songs, I'd suggest you get at least a 76 key keyboard. If you want to get as close to a real piano as possible, get a keyboard with 88 weighted, touch-sensitive keys. If you want more info, hit me up.

Reaction score
Why are you thinking of getting something to plug into your PC? Have you looked at getting an entry level 76 key keyboard piano and just sticking headphones into it?
I really want something kind of portable, so I can use it with my laptop and my desktop. I also want to record and mix with it, and I imagine that's easier with a MIDI keyboard.

Matters how much you are willing to spend. Do you want stuff like weighted keys, touch-sensitive keys and how many do you want/need?