Is it the server or my computer?

Reaction score
Wassup, I got annoyed by the low FPS I got IG. (GTX 760, 6-core processor, 8gb 1800hz ram etc.)
Had like 25-34 fps! So I re-installed the game and now when I've downloaded and extracted the content etc and the map. I can't join the server, first it comes to "retreiving server info" then it just stops... And the game crashes.
I've tried everything, like re-installing, re-extracting etc. Launch options, autoconfig, lower setting. It worked ONCE when I disabled downloading from servers, but then I got in, everything was error and after 30 seconds it crashed again. Anyone that can help me? Would appreciate it alot! :)

Reaction score
As for the FPS drops, more often it is the user's fault rather than the server but that is just from experience. I am not a tech wizz so I will leave that them. Sorry friend.

Reaction score
The low FPS isnt anyones fault other than the limitations within Garry's Mod itself.
Now, I'm not an expert on how games work, but allegedly when the next "big Gmod update" is released it is going to fix a lot if the performance problems that are currently an issue.
Try coming onto the server when there are less than 30people on, you will have no problem getting 45-50 fps att all times (I have an GTX 770).
But as soon as there are 50+ people online the fps takes a significant hit.

We can just hope on that update and upgrade of the current Garry's Mod comes sooner than later!

Reaction score
I got CS:S installed of course. The FPS is not the problem here! It's that I can't join the server! Now I go further than "retreiving server info". Now I come to "downloading maps/graphs/paralake_v2.ain" and then it crashes! I've rebooted my router too, and by the way-... I'm pretty suprised that I got "quick" answers... Thanks for that, appreciate it! Anyone who can help me solve this problem? The FPS is not the problem, I can deal with 30 FPS. But I can't join, yeah... :/