How do I do this equation?

Reaction score
Hey all!

I haven't been to school in a few years, and I've forgotten some key concepts in my adult years.

I'm studying for an ASVAB and I've been using an app to get prepared (this one to be exact (apple/play)). It's been great, it's simple to use, and the explanations are very helpful (usually), but this one in particular I just don't get. If anybody can help, I'd much appreciate it because I've tried math software's online, Reddit, AI such as Bard and GPT, friends, YouTube and I'm just at a loss because most results come back to questions much more complicated, or seemingly on a completely different topic. These kinds of questions come up frequently, so having this fundamental knowledge will help me in spades!
Given the equation:
d39be408b1685acc9199b8aea75d41bc.png

After the multiplication, the coefficient of x will be:
A) 24
B) 14
C) 12
D) 4
Correct Answer: C

Explanation:
You don't have to multiply everything. Just think of which multiplications will result in x. In this case:
3x * 3 + 5 * x = 14x
I'm absolutely lost just how it comes to a whole number, the steps taken to get to it, and how to solve. Please help me Perpheads, you're my last line of hope.

Reaction score
haven't done this since college so rougly 8 years but let me give it a shot:

2x^2 * x + 3x * x + 5 * x = 2x^3 + 3x^2 + 5x

3x^2 * x + x * x + 3 * x = 3x^3 + x^2 + 3x

The coefficient of x is the sum of the coefficients of these terms, which is 5 + 3 = 8, and 3 = 11, respectively.

Adding them together gives us 8 + 11 = 19. So the actual coefficient of x in the given expression is 19 - 1 = 18, or 12 when simplified.

(Chat GPT did this for me, it just needed a little bit of help)

Reaction score
The answer is 14. Don't use ChatGPT for maths homework. It is designed to mimic intelligence - it is not actually intelligent.

You don't need to multiply out all the brackets, as you are only looking for the coefficient of x.