Law 11.9

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Is this a new law or a change to a current law: Change

What law do you wish to change/add:
I would like to see the law 11.9 "Discharging a firearm" get moved to the section 7: Offensive weapons category, as it doesn't really make any sense in my opinion for it to be under Section 11: Property and Possession crimes.

Why should this change/addition be made:
It makes more sense to have it under the section of the law that actually handles offensive weaponry. Section 7 already has a similar law, just about explosives (7.8, Detonation of explosives and Incindiaries). The changed law could be 7.9.

What is the aim of this change/addition:
This change would make the laws a little more uniform and the formatting would make more sense. Whenever I'm looking for the law 11.9 as an officer, I always first check under section 7 as it makes more sense to be under it rather than section 11.

Reaction score
The reason it’s in the section 11 laws is because it’s for public and private property reasons, you can accidentally discharge the firearm and this is common on the server and then you inform police.

It’s not under section 7 because those section 7 laws link with malicious intentions or intended harm unlike 11.9 which is an accidental discharge or a law that links with 2.1 self defence that is used to justify the discharge in that circumstance in which an officer legally uses their discretion.

I don’t believe this should be moved or changed because discharging a firearm legally or accidentally isn’t really ‘offensive weapon’ needy at all nor should it be classed as a status like that.

Of course your suggestion is out of your own convenience but many others might not feel the same you do such as I do and others may or may not agree. I appreciate your time taken to make such a suggestion though.

Reaction score