The First Day on the Job

Reaction score
Hello people, I was a bit bored so I decided to write this story which takes some inspiration from my own experiences on the first day I was a police officer in Paralake City.
Feburary 3rd
Paralake Police Department

"Everything seems in check, Mr Trulock," stated the woman at the front desk, three amber chevrons sewn crudely into her shirt. An azure cap hung low over her hair, the brim shielding her face as I stood, thrusting my hands into my dilapidated jeans. A gale force, plus the raw blizzard hailing outside meant that a trip back to the sanguinary and safety of the suburbs would be a no-go. The female simply sat at her mahogany desk, taking her time to flick through soggy documents - oblivious to the world around her. It almost seemed as if you could shoot up the entire city, bring their limp bodies to the police department, line them up and she still wouldn't notice.
"Okay sir, I'm just going to need you to fill out this quick question sheet before you can hop aboard."

The Oxford blue shirt and pants clung to my skin like rubber as I heaved them on my shivering body. Peering deeper into the shabby changing room locker, I noticed a lightweight vest resting on its side. Curious, I plunged my hand into the dark confines of the locker and pulled out the vest. The ridged sides of the vest yielded obvious projectile protection, and the distinctive letters 'POLICE' were lined up in the center of the item. I tugged the velcro straps open and fastened the vest around my chest, before grabbing my - not surprisingly lacking in equipment - duty belt and clipped it around the perimeter of my waist. I turned around and peered into the mirror, looking at my irresponsible, fatigued self and wondering how I was granted the place in the Paralake Police Department anyway.