Tips for dealing with large amounts of suspects as an officer?

Reaction score
These last few days as an officer, I have had to deal with large amounts of suspects (3-6), sometimes on my own. I often lose my nerve and start shouting due to how a nightstick seems to do nigh-all against people. Anyone have any tips that can help me stay calm and control suspects?

Reaction score
My tip for you would be to:
First: Tell people to calm down
Second: Call for backup as 3-6 people is simply too much for you to handle on your own anyway, so might as well get some help
Third: If people start becoming aggressive tell them to back away using your nightstick
Fourth: If they continue to show aggression towards you, handcuff them as to ensure your own safety while dealing with them.

M

Reaction score
1 - Line them up against a wall with instructions to stay on their knees. This limits their mobility and if they stand up, they are technically at risk of escaping as there are many of them which could potentially mob you or run away whilst distracting you; therefore you nightstick them, reissuing the order.

2 - Have a rally-point for all suspects with a door you can close: they can't open a shut door. You can even break into an unowned property under section 11.5 to do this.

EDIT - Try handcuffing them to a pole or stationary object as a last resort.

Last edited:
Reaction score
During a crowd a officer must be aware of everything going on around him and should request assistance when he is being overwhelmed. If it is a dispute between two groups seperate them as best as possible until a second unit arrives to talk to the second group. If the two groups show aggression to each other try your best to get them out of sight. If the situation gets out of control you may use the panic button as this has the potential of turning into a street fight or even a riot.